Nauru (Naoero), Republic of Nauru, also known as Pleasant Island, is an island country in Micronesia, a subregion of Oceania, in the Central Pacific, Northeast of Australia and gained its independence on 31st January 1968.

Located 57.51km south of the Equator, with only 21-square-kilometre area and a population of 13,647 as of 2017, Nauru is the third-smallest independent Republic Country behind Vatican City.The currency commonly used is Australian Dollars.

The first ever post office on the island opened in 1905 using stamps of German Marshall Islands, as part of German Marshall Islands Protectorate. Following the outbreak of World War I, Nauru was occupied by Australian forces and Australian stamps overprinted North West Pacific Islands were used from 1914 to 1916. The British government later took control of the island and British stamps overprinted NAURU were issued in October 1916. From 1924, stamps were issued for Nauru as a mandated territory, then as a trust territory after WWII.

The establishment of an efficient and comprehensive postal system in Nauru is very important internationally and from a domestic viewpoint.

With the vision to connect the Nauruan people and its culture internationally through an efficient post and philatelic services, the Nauru Parliament enacted for the establishment on the Naoero Postal Services Corporation at a sitting of parliament on 25 January 2018.

The re-established Nauru Post was opened as a corporate body on 5th March 2018 by His Excellency the President Baron Divavesi Waqa, M.P, who envisioned the establishment of the postal corporation to seek and enter into cooperation with other postal services and draw on best practices with postal organisations including Australia and Asia.

Chairman of the new corporation reaffirmed his commitment through his mission statement that Nauru Post will bridge the gap between Nauruan communities and international communities through post and philatelic efforts.

Nauru became a member of the UPU on 17th April 1969, one year after its independence in January 1968.

The Director General of Universal Postal Union His Excellency Amb.Bishar Hussein visited Nauru first time ever on 19th February 2019.

Nauru Post Code “NRU 68” was jointly released on 20th February 2019 by His Excellency the President of Nauru and the Director General of UPU.


Baaron Waqa

Former President

& Minister for Nauru post office

Samuel Grundler

Former Chairman